BC Patient Safety & Quality Council

Font Size: Larger | Smaller

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Quality Awards?

The Quality Awards are an annual celebration of people and projects that improved the quality of care in British Columbia. They were established in 2009 (check out past winners here).

The 2018 award categories represent the four areas of care as well as four inspiring individuals: an outstanding Leader in Quality, an Everyday Champion, a Quality Culture Trailblazer, and a Leader in Advancing the Patient Voice.

What are the award categories?

Four Excellence in Quality categories represent the four areas of care as defined by the BC Health Quality Matrix.

  • Staying Healthy – awarded to a project focused on preventing injuries, illness and disabilities
  • Getting Better – awarded to a project focused on improving care for acute illness and/or or injury
  • Living with Illness – awarded to a project focused on improving care and support for chronic illness and/or injury
  • Coping with End of Life – awarded to a project focused on improving the planning, care and support for life-limiting illness and bereavement

The Leadership in Quality award is given to an individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership in improving the quality of care.

The Everyday Champion award celebrates someone who shows a passion and commitment for improving quality of care, even though their role does not necessarily specify participation in quality improvement activities or leadership responsibilities. The judging panel will select the candidates who best exemplify the award’s criteria, and the winner will be selected through online voting open to all British Columbians.

The Quality Culture Trailblazer award recognizes someone who created an environment where staff are empowered and encouraged to innovate; where teamwork and open communication are the norm; where team members work hard, but also have fun and passion while doing so.

The Leadership in Advancing the Patient Voice award celebrates an individual patient, caregiver or family member who made an outstanding contribution to advancing the patient voice in BC’s health care system. The nominee will have assumed a leadership role and will have contributed in any number of meaningful ways, including inspiring patients and health care organizations to collaborate in pursuit of better health care.

You might find it helpful to check out each award’s judging criteria.

Who or what kind of project can be nominated?

Any project that improved the quality of health care in BC, and any person whose dedication to improvement inspires you! Check out past winners for examples.

Who can submit a nomination?

Anyone, including those who work in health care, as well as patients, caregivers and family members!

Can I nominate myself, or my own initiative?


How many nominations can I make?

As many as you wish! But each project or person can only be nominated in one category. You’ll have to choose the category that’s the best fit.

Can I see an example of a great nomination?

Sure! Here is the nomination from 2014’s Living with Illness award winner.

Who is on the judging panel?

A group of leaders in quality and safety, patients and BCPSQC team members. Here’s the list.

What do the winners receive?

Winners will be awarded a $2,500 sponsorship to help support and disseminate learning from their projects or to support ongoing learning and development, and will be recognized at an awards ceremony at Health Talks on February 21, 2018.

Winners will also receive complimentary registration for the Quality Forum on February 22 & 23, 2018, and winners of the four project-based awards will be invited to present at the Forum.

My question wasn't answered here – I need help!

We’re sorry you didn’t find what you were looking for! Contact us at 604.668.8210 or awards@bcpsqc.ca and we’ll be happy to help.

At a Glance

The deadline to submit your nomination is June 30, 2017!

If you have questions please contact awards@bcpsqc.ca or 604-668-8210.

Download a poster to help you promote the awards in your workplace.